Plan of Action: Month 1

January:

  • I’m going to take the vow of not buying anything new unless I’m replacing something old. And nothing new unless I try Freecycle, Craigslist, or vintage/thrift stores first. No new clothing, jewelry, accessories. I have way too many of those already.
  • I’m undertaking the Minimalism Game with my minimalist meetup group. I’ll be getting rid of one (or several) thing(s) a day that correspond with the day of the month. Eek!
  • Sell all the clothing that I’m ready to part with to Buffalo Exchange or on ebay; donate the rest
  • Sign up for Bennett Compost again (pending roommate approval)
  • Use up the remaining food items in my pantry and refrigerator, then brainstorm where I can buy the items I need in bulk/without packaging. There will probably be less Trader Joes and more Whole Foods, farmer’s markets and Reading Terminal Market in my future
  • Use up my remaining shampoo and try switching to “no poo” (double eek)
  • Use up my toothpaste and mouthwash and switch to tooth powder and oil pulling (maybe? the oil’s going in the trash, so that’s not ideal)
  • Palmolive/handwashing soap/laundry detergent: I’m pretty sure I’m finishing this imminently. I’m going to switch to soap nuts.
  • Sell off: short bookcase
  • Post on Craigslist/Freecycle: frisbees, plastic jug, phone charger, accessories cabinet
  • Document waste/recycling generated here!
  • reserve Monday nights for meditation
  • only check personal email twice a day, Facebook once a day-disconnect these from my phone

Coming months:

  • use up remaining boxes of tissues; switch to cloth hankies
  • finish tooth powder and switch to homemade tooth powder
  • once spring/summer hits, use up the zinc oxide sunscreen that I do have, and investigate slightly less aesthetically atrocious options
  • work on using up my vitamins/supplements and floss
  • identify and get rid of/reduce remaining plastic in my life
3 thoughts on “Plan of Action: Month 1

  1. Have you read Sleeping Naked is Green by Vanessa Farquharson? I loved it and it seems like you would enjoy it as well. She makes one green change everyday for a year and there’s awesome tips in there to be greener and minimal.

    Like

    1. Katelyn, I haven’t read it, but it sounds like a great read. Unfortunately, they don’t have it at the local public library, so I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for a used copy or download it to my phone. Thanks for the tip!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

