Minimalism, Zero Waste, Gender, and Making a Greater Impact

What I would consider to be the four most famous minimalist bloggers are men. The three most notable zero waste bloggers in my albeit limited experience are women. Why is that?

I’ve been wondering since my first minimalist meetup, where seven men showed up and no women, whether there is an obvious, gendered reason for this. Namely, that society expects women to have a lot of clothes and personal care care products and be homemakers and cooks and decorators, all of which requires a lot of stuff…which makes it’s hard for women to be minimalists. At the same time, a zero waste lifestyle involves rethinking the processes by which we acquire cleaning products, personal care products and food, realms the women have traditionally been relegated to. Is this why?

To be totally honest (spoilers!), I was planning on devoting a significant amount of this blog to recipes for facial scrubs and cleaning products (which is interesting/entertaining to me, admittedly), but why should I? Honestly, the point of all this is to have a lighter impact on the environment…and I think a better way to do that would be to write letters to companies, make a fuss and talk to people about the chemicals in their food systems and the health impacts of plastics, and work with organizations and institutions to change how and what they source for their businesses. I want to enable people to #makeagreaterimpact.

(But I think I might still going to post that honey-cinnamon facial scrub, too.)

3 thoughts on “Minimalism, Zero Waste, Gender, and Making a Greater Impact

  1. This is such a neat project, and I totally admire your commitment!! I think this post is especially insightful…I’ve been reading the Beauty Redefined blog lately (a blog you’d probably appreciate too!) and they talk a lot about how magazines, ads, and other media condition women and girls to feel flawed and not beautiful, and the only solution is to buy products/services to aspire for an unrealistic ideal. A recent post about mascara pointed out how much more aggressively this kind of marketing is applied to women:

    “No one ever ever ever talks about men’s eyelashes or sells men anything to do with their eyelashes or asks men to think about what their eyelashes are lacking. Male and female eyelashes serve the same functions and are created equal. Just like men, you don’t need to dye, extend, amplify, paint, or modify your eyelashes in any way. You don’t. Yes, we’re living in a world where natural eyelashes are becoming a rare sight in media (and unfortunately in the world around us too), but that does not mean your natural lashes are any less awesome or fulfill their intended function any less perfectly. When we flip the script and see how unbelievably gendered the expectations of eyelashes are, we get a much-needed reality check.”

    Keep up the good work!

    Like

    1. Holly–thank you so much for your amazing comment and for reading about this crazy journey. What an incredible quote, also! It touches on something I think about ALL THE TIME. Why do I have to wear makeup, again? Remind me how all of this armpit shaving business got started? It makes me mad. I will definitely check out Beauty Redefined. Hope to see you and those two smart fellas of yours reallllll soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

